Fashion is something I have always loved. Call me a cliche girl, but it’s true. I’m not sure what it is about putting clothes on thats so exiting and fun. The colours, the fabrics, the sparkle…it just makes us feel special, right?! Makes us feel like we are a certain someone.

Growing up watching the typical Disney movie always made me dream of being that princess that would one day meet her prince. Like most little girls, I often wanted to put on the oversized ball gown and tiara and pretend that I was about to go and have the night of my dreams. The dress is what made my fantasy almost seem real. And now, as I go out on a date or to out dancing or whatever the occasion may be, the question often is ‘what shall I wear?’. These pieces of fabric cut and sewn together become apart of us.

Have you ever been wearing something that you feel so not good in or just plain uncomfortable and it’s effected your mood somehow. I know this might sound superficial but it’t true in many ways.  We put on a certain outfit and it sort of becomes apart of us, it’s supposed to say who we are, what we stand for, what we want. Well, at least I think it should in some ways.

Sometimes I wonder if people are sending the message they really want to send. Do they look like the person they want to look like. There are so many images bombarding us to look like this or look like that, even to be a certain way. Something I believe is that I am a daughter of God. That’s the kind of message I want to send as I put my clothes on in the morning. Maybe I don’t always get it right, but at least I want to always remember that I’m not some pin-up girl just here for male attention. I’m not a sex icon. I’m not piece of meat….don’t get me wrong I do want to look and feel beautiful, I want all women to look and feel beautiful. But beautiful because they know who they are. Beautiful because they know their identity. Beauty that comes through virtue, kindness, love, being true to our souls conscious. Beauty that is more then appearance. More then just the surface. It’s deep.

Although fashion is on the surface and maybe some think it’s superficial…we’ve got to wear it anyway, so lets make it fun! I want to discover, find, bring, talk about fashion that sends a message of creativity, modesty, respect, virtue, individuality, fun…just great things for women. That’s why I’m blogging.

But, I want to hear some things from you too! Tell me! What do you want people to see in you?

 

BJ xx

