For the first time in forever I felt like the odd one out. It wasn’t any big crazy event that caused me to suffer from great embarrassment or anything. It just made me think. I was with a group of people who didn’t know me very well. I had recently met them. They’re pretty different to me and very different to the kind of people I have being hanging around for the past 2 years (on my mission in Utah, USA). They’re great people of course, but they’ve just walked different roads, have different ideas about life, different values.

There were a few women around the same age as me. They swore a lot and didn’t mind showing off more of their body then I would feel comfortable with. After saying a sentence full of colourful language and sexual references one of the guys came behind me and covered my ears. The girls were confused and asked me how old I was. ’23’, I said. ‘Oh she’s OK,’ one girl said, ‘why do we need to worry about her?’. The guy that covered my ears said ‘because she’s a, nice girl, a good girl.’

As I was thinking about this ‘label’ that had been placed on me, I felt like the odd one, but in a good way. I decided to take it as a compliment. I honestly had no idea these people new or really observed that I am a ‘good girl’. Somehow they figured it out. Because I guess I am, I don’t swear, I don’t drink, I don’t smoke, I don’t sleep around or go to crazy clubs and my clothes generally go from my collar bone to my knee. And that’s who I am now.

Sometimes I wonder what brought me to this point. What series of events has made me the person I am today. I remember 6-7 years ago, sitting in a club, the same one I went to nearly every weekend. I was next to one of my good friends. Looking at one of the bars, all the alcohol bottles lined up, the different coloured lights were reflecting behind them. I turned to him and said, ‘look at that, they make it look so glamorous, so desirable…but it’s not.’ I think I was just over all the superficialness, I had had enough. I said to him in all seriousness, ‘this is the last time I’m coming to a club. I don’t want to support all this anymore.’

Many choices, like that simple one, has made me who I am. The choices I will make in the future will continue to shape me into the person I will become. The small events that fill up our lives create a character and being. For now and for the future. I have had to stand alone at times. And that’s OK. Because really I’m not alone. The world is a big place and even if here in Australia in this small town I feel like the weird one, I know that in some other place or country far away there’s someone just like me. We don’t have to be like everyone else! But if there are people just like us, we don’t have to be different. Sometimes we stand alone, but sometimes we can stand together.

True beauty will come when you figure out who you are and make the choices that are in harmony with who you truly are. But more importantly, true happiness will come. Your natural smile will radiate and confidence will shine.

I believe I truly am a daughter of a God who knows and loves me. I believe He knows and loves you too.

Discover the true YOU and remember, you don’t have to be like everyone else but you don’t have to be different either.

Tell me, what has been one of the greatest choices you’ve made in life?

BJ xx

