“I find the whole concept of being ‘sexy’ embarrassing and confusing. If I do an interview with photographers people desperately want to change me – dye my hair blonder, pluck my eyebrows, give me a fringe. Then there’s the choice of clothes. I know everyone wants a picture of me in a mini-skirt. But that’s not me. I feel uncomfortable. I’d never go out in a mini-skirt. It’s nothing to do with protecting the Hermione image. I wouldn’t do that. Personally, I don’t actually think it’s even that sexy. What’s sexy about saying, ‘I’m here with my boobs out and a short skirt, have a look at everything I’ve got?’ My idea of sexy is that less is more. The less you reveal the more people can wonder.” – Emma Watson

I saw this quote by Emma Watson not long ago and I have been thinking about it lately. There’s been a few people talking about it on the internet. Many mixed opinions. Personally, I like what she’s saying. It is so wonderful to see people in the spotlight who are not afraid to stand up for modesty.

I like her thoughts that ‘less is more’. Of course this doesn’t mean that I am suggesting we should start stepping out in head to toe coverings. And I don’t think that’s what Watson is suggesting. I think it is that you can still be ‘sexy’ or attractive, without  needing to have your ‘boobs out and a short skirt’ on.

Let’s go with the thought that most girls want to be sexy in order to attract guys. Well, in all honesty it probably is difficult for a guy not to look when a girl is getting around in a short skirt and low-cut top…but does that make him attracted to her? Does that make him want to approach her and maybe ask her out? Sure, he might think she’s hot, but is that all a girl wants? A woman should want to be more the sexy, because there are so many more better attributes and qualities that make a women attractive and appealing. There are so many more, and far more appealing, reasons why a guy would approach her.

Modesty can sometimes make us the one that sticks out like a sore thumb. It can be hard to be that girl who looks a bit different. But there’s more people backing you then you think. More people standing up for modesty then you think. Stick with it! Remember, attractiveness isn’t just about what you wear, and modesty isn’t just about what you wear…it’s about who you are! The choices you make throughout your life. The way you act, talk and treat others, which then reflect in your appearance.  When you make the inner-you the most attractive part, you will be happier, and, you will attract more people to you! Be the most beautiful and attractive you!

What do you think of Watson’s thoughts on modesty?

BJ xx

